Home Press Release Teacher of the Year candidate field narrowed to 44 semifinalists

UPDATE: 11 teachers added to semifinalist cohort for 2023 Minnesota Teacher of the Year; field now at 44

Share on

For more information, contact:
651-292-4820 (work)
651-245-6141 (cell)

651-292-4816 (work) 
651-247-5539 (cell)

ST. PAUL, Minnesota. March 7, 2023 – Eleven teachers have been added to the field of semifinalists for 2023 Minnesota Teacher of the Year, bringing the total field of semifinalists to 44.

An independent selection panel of 21 community leaders chose the semifinalists from an initial field of 132 candidates from across the state.

The panel will review the semifinalists’ portfolios again and review semifinalist video submissions in mid-March and will select about 10-12 finalists from among this group. The current Minnesota Teacher of the Year, Sarah Lancaster, will announce her successor at the Minnesota Teacher of the Year banquet, scheduled for May 7 at the Saint Paul RiverCentre.

Education Minnesota, the statewide educators union, organizes and underwrites the Teacher of the Year program. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade, Early Childhood Family Education and Adult Basic Education teachers, from public or private schools. The Minnesota Teacher of the Year Program also receives support from the following organizations: Education Minnesota ESI, Educators Lifetime Solutions, EFS Advisors, Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, SMART Technologies and Expedition Credit Union.

Additional teachers added to the semifinalist cohort for 2023 Minnesota Teacher of the Year include those listed immediately below, including the district, school, subject area and grade taught. The additional teachers were added to the semifinalist field after a data error was discovered late last week.

Lance Fredrickson, Osseo Area Schools, Oak View Elementary School, elementary education, Kindergarten
Mae Haley, White Bear Lake Area Schools, Vadnais Heights Elementary School, elementary education, 4th- 5th
Michael Houston, Saint Paul Public Schools, Harding High School, mathematics 9th- 12th
Bee Lee, Roseville Area Public Schools, Emmet D. Williams Elementary School, visual arts, Kindergarten-6th
Patrick Mahoney, Worthington School District, Worthington High School, world history, 10th
Emily Manson, Saint Paul Public Schools, Johnson High School, deaf and hard of hearing skills. Kindergarten-12th
Chandra Meach, Minneapolis Public Schools, Hmong International Academy, language arts, math, science, 2nd-6th
Johanna Mueller, Anoka Hennepin Schools, Hamilton Elementary School, elementary education, 4th
Carrie Newman, Saint Paul Public Schools, Murray Middle School, U.S. history, 7th
Sarah Omernik, PiM Arts High School charter school, Eden Prairie, English, 9th-12th
John Peter, Pelican Rapids Public Schools, Pelican Rapids High School, English as a second language, 7th-12th 

Those 11 teachers join the 33 semifinalists announced last week:

Fatuma Ali, Hopkins Public Schools, Hopkins High School, English, 10th-12th
Amber Amundson, Minneapolis Public Schools, Webster Elementary School, literacy, 5th
Mark Anderson, South Washington County Schools, Park High School, science, 9th & 11th
Jex Arzayus, Roseville Area Public Schools, Parkview Center School, art, 6th-8th 
Wendi Delmore, Anoka Hennepin Schools, McKinley Elementary School, reading and math, 2nd
Burke Egner, Albert Lea Area Schools, Southwest Middle School, technology, 6th-7th
Luis Estrada, Spring Lake Park Schools, Park Terrace Elementary School, elementary education, 4th
Stephanie Groetsch, Alexandria Public Schools, Carlos Elementary School, elementary education, 2nd
Jennifer Hairrell, Osseo Area Schools, Maple Grove Middle School, Spanish, 7th-8th
Kari Healy, Mankato Area Public Schools, Mankato East High School, media specialist, 9th-12th
Molly Keenan, Saint Paul Public Schools, Harding High School, social studies/history, 9th-12th
Mackenzie Keimig, Mounds View Public Schools, Mounds View High School, special education, 9th-12th
Gretchen Lee, Badger Independent School District, Badger Community School, family and consumer sciences (FCS), 7th-12th  
Angela Mahowald, Bloomington Public Schools, Hillcrest Community School, elementary education, 5th
Josh Mann, St. Michael-Albertville School District, St. Michael-Albertville High School, social studies, 9th-12th
Giovanna Margalli, Edina Public Schools, Cornelia Elementary School Elementary, elementary education, 4th
Nichole Markworth, Lac Qui Parle Valley School District, Appleton-Milan Elementary School, MMN Elementary, Lac Qui Parle Valley Middle School, music, K-6th
Joseph Melde, Inver Grove Heights School District, Salem Hills Elementary School, STEAM, K-5th
Lisa Neaderhiser, Anoka Hennepin Schools, Jackson Middle School, Setting III EBD (Center-based) English, reading and social skills, 7th-9th
Lin Niu, Hopkins Public Schools, Eisenhower Elementary School, XinXing Academy, elementary education, 2nd
Sorcha Nix, Saint Paul Public Schools, Open World Learning Community, science, 8th-9th
Kathryn O’Brien, Mounds View Public Schools, Bridges Program, (Federal Setting IV, special education), special education, K-3rd
Tatiana O’Donnell, Robbinsdale Area Public Schools, Robbinsdale Spanish Immersion, Spanish, math and science, 5th
Ryan Pedersen, Bloomington Public Schools, Thomas Jefferson High School, art, 9th- 12th
Bob Peterfeso, Jr., South St. Paul Public School District, South St. Paul Middle School, life science, 7th
Sherlyn Peterson, Intermediate School District 917 & Lakeville Area Schools, Christina Huddleston Elementary School/ISD 917 PACES Program, special education, K-6th
Fathimath Eliza Rasheed, Saint Paul Public Schools, Global Arts Plus-Upper Campus theatre, 5th-8th
Richard Rosivach, Mounds View Public Schools, Irondale High School, social studies, 9th-12th
Joe Schulte, Sartell-St. Stephen School District 748, Sartell High School, technology education, 9th-12th
Linsey Strand, Cass Lake-Bena Public Schools, Cass Lake-Bena Middle School, science, 7th
Chelsey Tulgren, Minnesota Correctional Facility-Stillwater Minnesota Correctional Facility-Stillwater, adult education/adult learners
Laurel Wiehe, Bloomington Public Schools, John F. Kennedy Senior High School, Social Studies, 10th-12th
Allyson Wolff, Hopkins Public Schools, Eisenhower Elementary School, Spanish immersion, 1st

About Education Minnesota
Education Minnesota is the voice for professional educators and students. Education Minnesota’s members include teachers and education support professionals in Minnesota’s public school districts, faculty members at Minnesota’s community and technical colleges and University of Minnesota campuses in Duluth and Crookston, retired educators and student teachers. Education Minnesota is affiliated with the American Federation of Teachers, National Education Association and AFL-CIO.

Similar Posts