Home Press Release Education Minnesota announces legislative endorsements

Education Minnesota announces legislative endorsements

Share on

For more information, contact:
651-292-4816 (work) 
651-247-5539 (cell)

ST. PAUL, Minnesota. July 20, 2022 – Education Minnesota has endorsed 57 candidates for the Minnesota Legislature, including six members of the union. 

Education Minnesota’s endorsement process relies on the educators who work every day in schools across Minnesota. They meet with candidates, review candidates’ written answers to educators’ questions and make recommendations to the board of the Education Minnesota Political Action Committee for a final vote. 

Education Minnesota, the largest labor union in the state, previously endorsed the reelections of Gov. Tim Walz, Attorney General Keith Ellison, Secretary of State Steve Simon and State Auditor Julie Blaha. 

Additional endorsements for the state Legislature will be announced periodically before Election Day. 

For questions about voting, including your legislative district, see mnvotes.org

The newly endorsed candidates for the state Legislature are below. The symbol “**” designates Education Minnesota members.

Candidate District Candidate District 
James Sceville House 1A Patty Acomb House 45B 
Reed Olson House 2A Kelly Morrison Senate 45 
Erika Bailey-Johnson House 2B Lucille “Lucy” Rehm House 48B 
Leonard Alan Roy Senate 2 Mary Frances Clardy** House 53A 
Pete Radosevich House 11A Rick Hansen House 53B 
Jeremy Vinar House 12B Brad Tabke House 54A 
Kari Dorry** Senate 12 Alicia Donahue Senate 54 
Alissa Brickman Senate 13 Jess Hanson House 55A 
Tom Kuster House 15B Kaela Berg House 55B 
Fernando Alvarado Senate 16 Lindsey Port Senate 55 
Laurel Stinson House 20A Erin Preese** House 57B 
Elise Diesslin House 20B Jackie Craig Senate 57 
Mary Hinnenkamp House 23A Aisha Gomez House 62A 
Thomas A. Stiehm House 23B Emma Greenman House 63B 
Brandon Lawhead Senate 23 Zaynab Mohamed Senate 63 
Gene Pelowski Jr. House 26A Anita Gaul** Senate 15 
Daniel Wilson Senate 26 Bradley Robert Drenckhahn Senate 20 
Erik Johnson House 28A Michael Heidelberger House 21B 
Sonja Buckmeier House 30A Emy Minzel Senate 27 
Chad Hobot House 30B Ann H. Rest Senate 43 
Diane Nguyen Senate 30 Dan Kessler Senate 48 
Bill Fisher House 31B Shaun Laden** Senate 62 
Melissa Hortman House 34B Matt Norris House 32B 
Zach Stephenson House 35A Marcia Stapleton House 22B 
Jerry Newton House 35B     
Heather Gustafson Senate 36     
Erin Koegel House 39A     
Sandra Feist House 39B     
Mary K. Kunesh** Senate 39     
Ginny Klevorn House 42B     
Bonnie Westlin Senate 42     
Cedrick R. Frazier House 43A     
Mike Freiberg House 43B    

About Education Minnesota
Education Minnesota is the voice for professional educators and students. Education Minnesota’s members include teachers and education support professionals in Minnesota’s public school districts, faculty members at Minnesota’s community and technical colleges and University of Minnesota campuses in Duluth and Crookston, retired educators and student teachers. Education Minnesota is affiliated with the American Federation of Teachers, National Education Association and AFL-CIO.

Similar Posts