Home Minnesota Educator New pension actions begin for next year of advocacy

New pension actions begin for next year of advocacy

Share on

Education Minnesota is continuing its advocacy for better pensions for all its members. Two new ways for members to be engaged in the work were announced recently.

NEW Pension Advocacy Network Facebook page

All Education Minnesota members who are interested in educator pension advocacy are invited join our new Facebook group. This is a place where members can connect, have productive conversations about pension solutions and have staff answer questions. Find the group by searching “Education Minnesota Pension Advocacy Network” and asking to join. You will have to answer a few membership questions and membership will be verified to remain in the group.

NEW Pension Advisory Group

Members have been appointed to our new Pension Advisory Group for the 2023-24 school year. After reviewing applications, ensuring that a diverse group of member advocates is reflected, these members from across the state have been selected to serve. Members were chosen from each of Education Minnesota’s election zones, which is standard practice for all of our union’s committee assignments. Because of the large interest, there are two representatives from each zone on this committee, to make sure we have a sizable group that could still have in-depth discussions where they can make decisions.

There was an incredible amount of applications for this group. Even if members weren’t appointed this year, please continue to weigh in by email, on our new Facebook page and engage in continued pension advocacy events and opportunities. Members who applied may still be appointed to remaining Education Minnesota committees.

  • Zone 1: Brian Cole, Moorhead, and Doyle Turner, Bemidji
  • Zone 2: Bridget Peterson, Esko, and Michael Sievert, Nashwauk-Keewatin
  • Zone 3: David Leom, Milaca, and Jenn Roos, Fergus Falls
  • Zone 4: Andrea Sitzmann, Jackson County Central, and Brenda Kellen, Marshall
  • Zone 5: Scott Lyke, Rochester, and Craig Brenden, Waseca
  • Zone 6: Joseph Wollersheim, Dakota County United Educators, and Heidi Simons, Bloomington
  • Zone 7: Todd Richter, Roseville, and Kim Hannan, Osseo
  • Zone 8: Dan Foss, Anoka Hennepin, and Elizabeth Keeling, Anoka Hennepin

Governing Board representatives:
Ryan Fiereck, Committee Chair, St. Francis; Lisa Olson, Vice Chair, Elk River; and Marty Fridgen, South Washington County

Education Minnesota Retired:
Jeannie Brown-Kruesel, Faribault, and David Esposito, Robbinsdale

Monica Byron, Education Minnesota Vice President, and Rodney Rowe, Education Minnesota Secretary-Treasurer

Members and staff of the group can be contacted at pensions@edmn.org.

A message from Pension Advisory Chair, Ryan Fiereck:

“I’m excited for this new pension task force to come together to talk about pathways forward toward pension improvement and flexibility. We’ll work to come together under a unified vision of what pensions should look like for Minnesota educators. I’m also excited that we’re going to dive into the nuts and bolts of how we can get there and provide the guidance for our members across the state of Minnesota as we do this work together.”

Pension Update emails continue

As this group begins work, members will receive any updates on pension-related work in the Pension Update emails. If you are not registered for the emails, go to www.educationminnesota.org/advocacy/at-the-legislature/pensions.

Similar Posts