Home Minnesota Educator Member honor roll

Member honor roll

Share on

Congratulations to the Education Minnesota members who have been honored for their work in the last year.

2023 Rural Educators of Excellence

Every year, the Minnesota Rural Education Association honors educators from across the state with their Educators of Excellence Awards. Honored in 2023 were:

South Central
Carin Hagemeyer, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa

Kristin Doeden, Worthington

North Central
Angie Hurtig, Bertha-Hewitt

Melissa Oberg, Cook County

2023 Council on Economic Education Educators of the Year

Each year, the Minnesota Council on Economic Education honors Minnesota educators who effectively teach economic and personal finance principles using innovative, culturally responsive and creative teaching practices. The awards honor teachers who incorporate exemplary teaching techniques that improve the economic and personal finance understanding of their students, both in and out of the classroom.

Elementary Educator of the Year
Katie June Calvert, St. Francis

High School Educator of the Year
Joel Coleman, Minnetonka

Art Educators of Minnesota 2023 awards

Art Educator of the Year
John Tinsley, Roseville

Elementary Art Educator of the Year
Kristen Dollman Stoll, St. Cloud

Rookie Art Educator of the Year
Kate Trosen, Bemidji

High School Art Educator of the Year
Tara Hager, Hawley

2023 Presidential Award Minnesota State Finalists

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is the nation’s highest honor for U.S. K–12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics and/or computer science teachers. The award is administered by the National Science Foundation on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. The state finalists are selected by a Minnesota committee and then their applications move on to the national review.

Science finalists

  • Lainey Bristow, Hiawatha Academies
  • Jill Jensen, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan
  • Beth Robelia, St. Paul

Math finalist

  • Alexis Wolf, North St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale

2023 Science Teachers of the Year

Minnesota Science Teacher Association Science Teaching Awardee (Elementary)
Josh Leonard, St. Paul

Minnesota Science Teacher Association Science Teaching Awardee (Secondary)
Debra Las, Rochester

2023 Agriculture Educators of the Year

Every year, the Minnesota Association of Agricultural Educators recognizes individuals and programs.

Outstanding Ag Ed Teacher
Eric Sawatzke, West Central Area High School

Outstanding Early Career Teacher
Victoria Barka, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunberg

Teacher Turn the Key
Harley Braun, St. Paul

Outstanding Teacher Mentor
TJ Brown, South Central College

2023-24 Social Studies Teachers of the Year

Each year, the Minnesota Council for the Social Studies honors three Teachers of the Year at the annual awards dinner. These three teachers, representing Elementary, Middle School, High School, and Lifetime Achievement, are nominated by colleagues, supervisors, parents and students.

2023 Middle
Maranda Cameron, Elk River

2023 High
Christopher Griggs, Edina

2024 Middle
Autumn Heitzman, St. Cloud

2024 High
Aaron Johnson, Sauk Rapids-Rice

2024 Minnesota State Board of Trustees Awards for Excellence

The Board of Trustees Awards for Excellence acknowledge and provide system-wide recognition for consistently superior commitment to student learning and to encourage the ongoing pursuit of excellence at the colleges and universities of Minnesota State.

Educator of the Year

  • Kendra-Ann Seenandan-Sookdeo,
    Minneapolis College

Outstanding Educators

  • Sharon Bergen, Dakota County Technical College
  • Garrett Byrne, Saint Paul College
  • Cathy Crea, Century College
  • Don Drummond, Minnesota State
    Community and Technical College
  • Anna Francisco, Minnesota North College
  • Amy Gonyea, Saint Paul College
  • Jane Greathouse, South Central College
  • Luke Green, St. Cloud Technical
    and Community College
  • Jody Hibma, Minnesota State Community
    and Technical College
  • Theresa Hill, Rochester Community
    and Technical College
  • Paul Howlett, Hennepin Technical College
  • Neil Johnston, Century College
  • Susan Kasahara, Normandale Community College
  • Vicki Kintop, Riverland Community College
  • Elizabeth Micheel, Minnesota State College Southeast
  • Ryan Miller, Minnesota North College
  • Siau Yean Montgomery, Northwest Technical College
  • Carrie Naughton, Inver Hills Community College
  • Paige Riehl, Anoka-Ramsey Community College
  • Jacqueline Semaan, Lake Superior College
  • Molly Skjei, Normandale Community College
  • Heidi Tarus, Minnesota West Community
    and Technical College
  • Mike Tieleman, Anoka Technical College
  • Ruth Wollersheim, Century College

Similar Posts