Education Minnesota announces legislative endorsements 


For more information, contact:

Chris Williams
651-292-4816 (work)
651-247-5539 (cell)

ST. PAUL, Minnesota. Aug. 1, 2018 _ Education Minnesota announced on Wednesday that it has endorsed 68 candidates for the state Legislature, including eight current or former members of the union. 

Educators Paul Marquart, Jennifer Schultz, Dean Urdahl, Jeanne Poppe, Stephen Browning, Murray Smart, Jamie Mahlberg and Terry Gjersvik are among the candidates in the latest round of endorsements.

The list released Wednesday includes 20 incumbents, 40 challengers and eight candidates running in open seats for the Minnesota House.

Education Minnesota will announce additional endorsements over the next few months.

Name    District    Area    Party
Robert Ecklund    3A    International Falls    DFL
Mary Murphy    3B    Hermantown    DFL
Ben Lien    4A    Moorhead    DFL
Paul Marquart    4B    Dilworth    DFL
Jennifer Schultz    7A    Duluth    DFL
Liz Olson    7B    Duluth    DFL
Dean Urdahl    18A    Grove City    RPM
Duane Sauke    25B    Rochester    DFL
Tina Liebling    26A    Rochester    DFL
Jeanne Poppe    27B    Austin    DFL
Gene Pelowski    28A    Winona    DFL
Michael Nelson    40A    Brooklyn Park    DFL
Jamie Becker- Finn    42B    Roseville    DFL
Peter Fischer    43A    Maplewood    DFL
Leon Lillie    43B    North St Paul    DFL
Cheryl Youakim    46B    Hopkins    DFL
Laurie Pryor    48A    Minnetonka    DFL
Andrew Carlson    50B    Bloomington    DFL
Rick Hansen    52A    South St Paul    DFL
Alice Hausman    66A    Roseville    DFL
Name    District    Area    Party
Stephen Moeller    1A    Thief River Falls    DFL
Brent Lindstrom    1B    East Grand Forks    DFL
Gail Kulp    8B    Alexandria    DFL
Stephen Browning    9B    Little Falls    DFL
Dale Menk    10A    Brainerd    DFL
Phil Yetzer    10B    Crosby    DFL
Murray Smart    12A    Beardsley    DFL
Emy Minzel    15A    Princeton    DFL
Tom Wyatt- Yerka    16A    Marshall    DFL
Mindy Kimmel    16B    New Ulm    DFL
Lyle Koenen    17A    Clara City    DFL
Anita Flowe    17B    Willmar    DFL
Barbara Droher Kline    20A    New Prague    DFL
Jonathan Isenor    21B    Wanamingo    DFL
Maxwell Kaufman    22A    Fulda    DFL
Cheniqua Johnson    22B    Worthington    DFL
Heather Klassen    23A    Butterfield    DFL
Joseph Heegard    24A    Owatonna    DFL
Yvette Marthaler    24B    Faribault    DFL
Jamie Mahlberg    25A    Rochester    DFL
Tyrel Clark    26B    Eyota    DFL
Terry Gjersvik    27A    Alden    DFL
Renee Cardarelle    29A    Annandale    DFL
Sharon McGinty    29B    Buffalo    DFL
Renae Berg    32A    Rush City    DFL
Norrie Thomas    33A    Wayzata    DFL
Kelly Morrison    33B    Deephaven    DFL
Kevin Fogarty    38A    Centerville    DFL
Shelly Christensen    39B    Stillwater    DFL
Kelly Moller    42A    Shoreview    DFL
Madalynn Gerold    47A    Chaska    DFL
Carlie Kotyza- Witthuhn    48B    Eden Prairie    DFL
Heather Edelson    49A    Edina    DFL
Ruth Richardson    52B    Mendota Heights    DFL
Stephen Sandell     53B    South St Paul    DFL
Anne Claflin    54A    Hastings    DFL​
Tina Folch   54B    Woodbury    DFL
Brad Tabke    55A    Shakopee    DFL
Hunter Cantrell    56A    Savage    DFL
Alice Mann    56B    Lakeville    DFL
Open seats
Name    District    Area    Party

Alex Hering    09A    Pilllager    DFL
Jessica Filiaggi    15B    Foley    DFL
Cindy Yang    40B    Brooklyn Park    DFL
Ryan Winkler    46A    Golden Valley    DFL
Donzel Leggett    47B    Chaska    DFL
Steve Elkins    49B    Bloomington    DFL
Tou Xiong    53A    Woodbury    DFL
Robert Bierman    57A    Apple Valley    DFL

The union endorsed candidates who interviewed with educators from their districts and who completed questionnaires created by educators.

About Education Minnesota 
Education Minnesota is the voice for professional educators and students. Education Minnesota’s members include teachers and education support professionals in Minnesota’s public school districts, faculty members at Minnesota’s community and technical colleges and University of Minnesota campuses in Duluth and Crookston, retired educators and student teachers. Education Minnesota is affiliated with the American Federation of Teachers, National Education Association and AFL-CIO.