Political Action Committee

The Education Minnesota Political Action Committee (PAC) is a group of educators from across the state who guide our union's political and election programs. It is not affiliated with any political party.

The PAC was formed to create political power for educators.

Members are democratically appointed
The PAC is governed by a 33-member board of educators, comprised of one representative from each Education Minnesota regional election district, one higher education/statewide affiliate representative, one ESP representative, one non-voting aspiring educator, one non-voting retiree member and the Education Minnesota constitutional officers. Board members serve one-year terms. Board members are appointed by the Education Minnesota president and approved by the executive committee of Education Minnesota’s elected governing board. All members are eligible to seek appointment to the PAC.


  • Educate, support and strengthen the commitment of the citizens and the government to excellence in public education at all levels.
  • Promote and strive for the improvement of the public schools.
  • Encourage educators to know and understand the nature and actions of their government and the important political issues as they pertain to public education.
  • Elect candidates who support the mission of Education Minnesota
  • Increase political action and voter participation of Education Minnesota members.

Educators make candidate endorsements
The PAC makes candidate endorsements representing the collective voice of 86,000 educators. Candidates from all political parties are entitled to seek Education Minnesota endorsement and the PAC regularly endorses Democratic and Republican candidates.

Members pay PAC dues
Elected member delegates vote at Education Minneaota's annual business meeting to assess PAC dues. Regular member dues do not fund the PAC and all members may choose to opt-out of the yearly PAC contribution.

Follow the PAC on Twitter!

Board members

Find your PAC board representative:
Election district map
PDF, 28 pages, 5.6MB

The 2020-21 Education Minnesota PAC Board

Election District A Representative
Kim Davidson
Contact Kim
Election District B Representative
Carl Soderberg
Contact Carl
Election District C Representative
Amber Serfling
Grand Rapids
Contact Amber
  Election District D Representative
Lynette Schwagerl
Contact Lynette
  Election District E Representative
Lee Baker Wagner
Mora ESP
Contact Lee
  Election District F Representative
Election District G Representative
Esther Hammerschmidt
Redwood Falls
Contact Esther
Election District H Representative
Beth Isaacson
Albert Lea
Contact Beth
Election District I Representative
Linda Pfeilsticker
Contact Linda
  Election District J Representative
Stephen Cade
Contact Stephen
  Election District K Representative
Election District L Representative
Leah Hood
Contact Leah
Election District M Representative
Heather Mathews
Dakota County United Educators
Contact Heather
  Election District N Representative
Election District O Representative
Beth Swanberg
St Paul
Contact Beth
Election District P Representative
Natasha Dockter
Contact Natasha
Election District Q Representative
Karin Hogen
White Bear Lake
Contact Karin
Election District R Representative
Mary Mohr-Scinocca
Spring Lake Park
Contact Mary
Election District S Representative
Sarah Spleiss
Anoka Hennepin
Contact Sarah
Election District T Representative
Ternesha Burroughs
Contact Ternesha
Election District U Representative
Jeremy Peterson
Chisago Lakes
Contact Jeremy
Election District V Representative
Diana Ortiz-Hedges
Contact Diana
  Election District W Representative
Election District X Representative
Joanna Prosser
Contact Joanna
Election District Y Representative
Melissa Del Rosario
Contact Melissa
Election District Z (MSCF) Representative
Amanda Olson
Minnesota State College Faculty
Contact Amanda
  ESP Representative
Ma-Riah Roberson-Moody
Contact Ma-Riah
SRSEA Representative
Marty Scofield
State Residential Schools
Contact Marty
Education Minnesota Aspiring Educators (non-voting)
Emily Amundson
EMSP-Southwest MSU Marshall
Contact Emily
  Education Minnesota Retired (non-voting)
Kaye Peters
Education Minnesota Retired
Contact Kaye