Education Minnesota

Education Minnesota endorses candidates for Legislature

For more information, contact:

Chris Williams

651-292-4816 (work)

651-247-5539 (cell)

ST. PAUL, Minnesota. July 1, 2020 – Education Minnesota announced on Wednesday that it has endorsed more than 80 candidates for the state Legislature, including five professional educators.

Educators Matt Bruns (House 21A); Joe Rosh (House 29B); Josiah Hill (Senate 39); Jason Isaacson (Senate 42); and Erin Preese (House 58A) all earned the endorsement of the state's largest labor union of educators.

The full list of more than 80 candidates is below. Education Minnesota will announce additional endorsements in the future. A complete list of endorsed candidates, including candidates for federal office, are listed on the union's website.

House

1A: Connie Lindstrom

2A: Jeremiah Liend

2B: David Suby

3A: Rob Ecklund (Incumbent)

5A: John Persell (Incumbent)

5B: Joe Abeyta

6B: Dave Lislegard (Incumbent)

10A: Dale Menk

10B: Gaylene Spolarich

11A: Mike Sundin (Incumbent)

11B: Jack Frechette

14A: Tamara Calhoun

14B: Dan Wolgamott (Incumbent)

15A: Calvin Schmock

15B: Ron Thiessen

16A: Doria Drost

16B: Mindy Kimmel

17A: Ben Dolan

20A: Erina Prom

20B: Todd Lippert (Incumbent)

21A: Matt Bruns*

21B: Elise Diesslin

23A: Patricia Fahey Bacon

23B: Leroy McClelland

25A: Kim Hicks

25B: Liz Boldon

26B: Randy Brock

29A: Renee Cardarelle

29B: Joe Rosh*

32A: Renae Berg

34A: Brian Raines

34B: Kristin Bahner (Incumbent)

35A: Mike Erickson

35B: Jason Ruffalo

36A: Zack Stephenson (Incumbent)

37A: Erin Koegel (Incumbent)

37B: Amir Malik

39B: Shelly Christensen (Incumbent)

40A: Michael Nelson (Incumbent)

42A: Kelly Moller (Incumbent)

42B: Jamie Becker-Finn (Incumbent)

43B: Leon Lillie (Incumbent)

50A: Michael Howard (Incumbent)

50B: Andrew Carlson (Incumbent)

51A: Sandra Masin (Incumbent)

51B: Liz Reyer

52A: Rick Hansen (Incumbent)

55A: Brad Tabke (Incumbent)

55B: Andrea Nelsen

57A: Robert Bierman (Incumbent)

57B: John Huot (Incumbent)

58A: Erin Preese *

58B: Sara Wolf

Senate

1: Reed Perkins

2: Alan Roy

5: Rita Albrecht

7: Jen McEwen

10: Steve Samuelson

11: Michelle Lee

14: Aric Putnam

17: Fernando Alvarado

20: John Olson

21: Ralph Kaehler

22: Shawna Marshall

24: Roger Steinkamp

25: Sara Flick

26: Aleta Borrud

29: Chris Brazelton

32: Joshua Fike

34: Bonnie Westlin

36: John Hoffman (Incumbent)

- 37: Jerry Newton (Incumbent)
- 39: Josiah Hill*
- 40: Chris Eaton (Incumbent)
- 42: Jason Isaacson (Incumbent)*
- 43: Charles Wiger (Incumbent)
- 50: Melissa Wiklund (Incumbent)
- 51: Jim Carlson (Incumbent)
- 52: Matt Klein (Incumbent)
- 57: Gregory Clausen (Incumbent)
- 58: Matt Little (Incumbent)

About Education Minnesota

Education Minnesota is the voice for professional educators and students. Education Minnesota's members include teachers and education support professionals in Minnesota's public school districts, faculty members at Minnesota's community and technical colleges and University of Minnesota campuses in Duluth and Crookston, retired educators and student teachers. Education Minnesota is affiliated with the American Federation of Teachers, National Education Association and AFL-CIO.

© 2021 Education Minnesota. All rights reserved.

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy