134 teachers are candidates for 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year

For more information, contact:

Doug Dooher

651-292-4820(work) 651-245-6141 (cell)

Chris Williams

651-292-4816 (work) 651-247-5539 (cell)

ST. PAUL, Minn., Jan. 24, 2020 – The 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be chosen from a field of 134 candidates. These candidates have accepted their nominations and completed the required materials to become eligible for the honor.



This year's program will name the 56th Minnesota Teacher

of the Year, celebrating the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota. Eligible candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade, Early Childhood Family Education and Adult Basic Education teachers, from public or private schools.

The 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced Sunday, May 3, at the Saint Paul RiverCentre. Over the coming weeks, a 25-member panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists and finalists.

Organized and underwritten by Education Minnesota, the Minnesota Teacher of the Year program receives support from Education Minnesota ESI, Educators Lifetime Solutions, EFS Advisors, Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, SMART Technologies and United Educators Credit Union.

The candidates for 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year, listed by their school districts, are:

Carol Thompson, Alden-Conger Public School District Karinda Duffy, Annandale Public Schools Heather Birklid, Anoka-Hennepin School District Amber Delliger, Anoka-Hennepin School District Teresa Dwyer, Anoka-Hennepin School District Stephanie Gwin, Anoka-Hennepin School District Patricia Halsey, Anoka-Hennepin School District Amy Quinn, Anoka-Hennepin School District Andrea Whitcomb, Anoka-Hennepin School District Maria Mickelson, Austin Public Schools Erin Koshiol, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa Schools Zach McDermott, Bemidji Area Schools Jeffrey Levine, Bloomington Public Schools Katrina Van Ruyven, Bloomington Public Schools Sarah Weber, Bloomington Public Schools Qorsho Hassan, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District Roberta (Bobbie) Kunkel, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District Julie Jacobsma, Cambridge Isanti Schools Michael Gunderson, Cannon Falls Area Schools Neil Smith, Cannon Valley Special Education Cooperative Daniel DeRuyck, Centennial Schools Nora Gathje, Chatfield Public Schools Peg Nelson, Columbia Heights Public Schools Kim Davidson, Crookston Public Schools Jason Koets, Delano Public Schools District Nicole Jensen, Duluth Public Schools Brian Jungman, Duluth Public Schools Linda Puglisi, Duluth Public Schools Pam Brownell, Eden Prairie Schools Corey Christopherson, Eden Prairie Schools Cindy Dooley, Eden Prairie Schools Kari Moore, Eden Prairie Schools Maria Villavicencio, Eden Prairie Schools Stephen Sanger, Edina Public Schools Lisa Becker, Elk River Public Schools Scott Lillestrand, Elk River Public Schools Deb Colborn, Elk River Public Schools Natasha Goudy, Elk River Public Schools Jerry Brooks, Fairmont Area Schools Anna Bakker-Anderson, Farmington Area Public Schools Josh Hall, Farmington Area Public Schools Amy Beske, Fergus Falls Public Schools Ann Zitzow, Frazee-Vergas Public School Scott Robinson, Gibbon Fairfax Winthrop Schools Doyle Zellar, Heron Lake-Okabena Schools Lara McDowell, Hibbing Public Schools Chris Adams, Hopkins Public Schools Shannon Finnegan, Hopkins Public Schools Cassandra Haga, Intermediate District 287 Matthew Corey, Inver Grove Heights Schools Amy Evans, Isle Public Schools Erica Colby, Jackson County Central School District Alex Keilen, Lake Crystal Wellcome Memorial District Kathrina O'Connell, Lake Park Audubon School District Jamye Casperson, Lakeville Area Schools Jonathan Gilmer, Lakeville Area Schools Nicole Hewitt, Lakeville Area Schools Jennifer Noreault, Lakeville Area Schools Anna Duffy, Mahtomedi Public Schools Ann Garry, Mahtomedi Public Schools

Angie Davis, Mankato Area Public Schools Marty Brandl, Marshall Public Schools Jennifer Pilon, Minneapolis Public Schools Leanne Smith, Minnetonka Public Schools Todd Rietveld, Montevideo Public Schools Jon Larson, Moorhead Area Public Schools Amy Mumm, Morris Area Schools Lisa Eldred, Mounds View Public Schools Abby Scott, Mounds View Public Schools Tim Bobeldyk, Murray County Central Schools Regina Calvert, Nicollet Public School Marybeth Youngblut, Northfield Public Schools Lisa Imsdahl, North St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale School District John Olson, Ortonville Public Schools Kori Brown, Osseo Area Schools Jan Radder, Osseo Area Schools Jessica Spurrell, Osseo Area Schools Dustin Thorson, Owatonna Public Schools Lynn Jerman, Parnassus Preparatory School Fave Sandy, Pierz Public Schools Ryan (Caleb) Larson, Pine City Public Schools Anthony McGee, Plainview-Elgin-Millville Community Schools Heather Pelican, Proctor Public Schools Steve Ballard, Red Lake School District Jennifer Hinckley, Red Lake School District Omar Mcmillan, Richfield Public Schools Janet Rein, Robbinsdale Area Schools Billie Pace-Gaczyk, Robbinsdale Area Schools Leif Eidsmoe, Roseau Community Schools Katie Coulson, Rosemount- Apple Valley- Eagan District Allyson Jelinski, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan District Sara Laine, Roseville Area Schools Melissa Hammer, Royalton Public Schools Andrew Brigger, Saint Paul Public Schools Jennifer Funkhouser, Saint Paul Public Schools Courtney Gbolo, Saint Paul Public Schools Anna Parvi, Saint Paul Public Schools Sherri Quinn, Saint Paul Public Schools Patricia Boyt, Saint Paul Public Schools DeWayne Combs, Saint Paul Public Schools Donna Ryder, Saint Paul Public Schools Kyle Warner, Saint Paul Public Schools Mark Westpfahl, Saint Paul Public Schools Lisa Schramel, Sauk Centre Public Schools Ashlee Johnson, Sauk Rapids-Rice Public Schools Sheila Matzke, Shakopee Public Schools Rachael Schweigert, Shakopee Public Schools Jane Cornell, South St. Paul Public Schools Tania Lauby, South St. Paul Public Schools

Jaimie Forkrud, South Washington County Schools Jason Jankowski, South Washington County Schools Lisa Peterson, South Washington County Schools Mary Mohr-Scinocca, Spring Lake Park Schools Nora Tycast, Spring Lake Park Schools Maya Kruger, St. Anthony - New Brighton School District John Myszkowski, St. Louis Park Public Schools Jody Kelly, St. Michael-Albertville Schools Stephanie Affeldt, Stewartville Public Schools Jim Parry, Stewartville Public Schools Rachel Steil, Stillwater Area Public Schools Catie Jacobs, Twin Cities German Immersion School T.J. Pelanek, Underwood School District Lisa A. Weniger, Wadena-Deer Creek Public Schools Melanie Vickmark, Waubun-Ogema-White Earth Schools Emily Haugh, Wayzata Public Schools Dawn Johnson, Wayzata Public Schools Amanda Laden, Wayzata Public Schools Steve Newman, Wayzata Public Schools Klair Hans, Westonka Public Schools Jessica Lunski, Westonka Public Schools Sara Schwartz, Westonka Public Schools Bobbie Jo Tronsgard, Westonka Public Schools Tressa Lanter, Wheaton Area Schools Darin Raasch, Zumbrota-Mazeppa Schools

> Contact us | Local union websites | Careers © 2021 Education Minnesota. All rights reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy