**Education Minnesota** 

## New Minnesota Teacher of the Year to be announced this Sunday, May 6

For more information, contact:

## **Doug Dooher**

651-292-4820 (work) 651-245-6141 (cell)

## **Chris Williams**

651-292-4816 (work) 651-247-5539 (cell)

ST. PAUL, Minnesota, May 1, 2018 – The new Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be named this Sunday, May 6. The Radisson Blu Mall of America hosts this year's Teacher of the Year banquet.

Corey Bulman of Westonka, the current Minnesota Teacher of the Year, will announce his successor at the banquet. This is the 54th year for the program. Minnesota has produced four National Teachers of the Year, more than any state except Washington and California.



The banquet takes place from 1 to 3 p.m. in the Radisson Blu's Lakes ballroom. The surprise announcement of the new Teacher of the Year should take place between 2:30 and 3 p.m. In addition, the announcement will be broadcast live on Facebook on the Minnesota Teacher of the Year Facebook page.

Reporters attending the event are advised to arrive by 2 p.m. The new Teacher of the Year will be available for interviews on-site immediately following the banquet May 6 and during the day May 7. The Radisson Blu Mall of America is located at 2100 Killebrew Dr., Bloomington, Minnesota 55425. Media members with camera equipment are required to enter through the hotel security loading dock and check in with the security office. Parking spots will be blocked off. See directions here.

The 2018 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will come from a field of 12 finalists. There were 167 candidates in this year's original field. This year's finalists (listed alphabetically, with school, district, subject and grade[s] taught) are:

Courtney Bell, North Academy of Arts and Communications, Minneapolis, social studies, grades 9-12

Dani Berry, Epsilon, Intermediate District 287, math, grades 7-12

Scott Glew, Salk Middle School, Elk River, social studies, grade 8

Kelly Holstine, Tokata Learning Center, Shakopee, English, grades 9-12

**Adam Kuehnel**, Minnesota Correctional Facility–Faribault, State of Minnesota, English language arts, Adult Basic Education

Alyssa Larsen, Waconia High School, Waconia, human geography and world history, grades 10-12

Tim Leistikow, Fridley High School, Fridley, English, grades 11-12

Shaylee McComb, Weaver Elementary, North St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale, music, grades K-5

Malia Norton, Medford Elementary, Medford, elementary, grade 2

Renee Swanson, High School for Recording Arts, St. Paul, biology, grades 9-12

Sheena Tisland, Red Wing High School, Red Wing, language arts, grade 9

Gregory Truso, Wilshire Park Elementary, St. Anthony-New Brighton, elementary, grade 2

Education Minnesota, the 86,000-member statewide educators union, organizes and underwrites the Teacher of the Year program. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers from public or private schools. The Minnesota Teacher of the Year Program also receives support from the following organizations: The Radisson Blu Mall of America, the Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, United Educators Credit Union, McDonald's Restaurants of Minnesota, Educators Lifetime Solutions, EFS Advisors and Education Minnesota ESI.

Contact us | Local union websites | Careers
© 2021 Education Minnesota. All rights reserved.

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy