New teacher of the year to be named Sunday


For more information, contact:

Doug Dooher
651-292-4820 (work)
651-245-6141 (cell)

Chris Williams
651-292-4816 (work)
651-247-5539 (cell)

ST. PAUL, Minnesota. May 1, 2019 – The new Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be named this Sunday, May 5. The Saint Paul RiverCentre hosts this year’s Teacher of the Year banquet.
Kelly D. Holstine, the current Minnesota Teacher of the Year, will announce her successor at the banquet. This is the 55th year for the program. Minnesota has produced four National Teachers of the Year, more than any state except Washington and California.
The banquet takes place from 1-3 p.m. in Ballrooms C and D on the second floor of the Saint Paul RiverCentre. The surprise announcement of the new Teacher of the Year should take place between 2:30 p.m. and 3 p.m. In addition, the announcement will be broadcast live on Facebook on the Minnesota Teacher of the Year Facebook page.
Tickets for the event are limited, but depending on availability, may be purchased by contacting Sara Schumacher.
Reporters attending the event are advised to arrive by 2 p.m. The new Teacher of the Year will be available for interviews on-site immediately following the banquet May 5 and during the day May 6.
The Saint Paul RiverCentre is located at 175 W. Kellogg Blvd, St. Paul, MN 55102.
The 2019 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will come from a field of nine finalists. There were 168 candidates in this year’s original field. This year’s finalists (listed alphabetically, with school, district, subject and grade[s] taught) are:

  • Jeffrey Davies, Roseville Area High School, Roseville, industrial technology – woods and trades, grades 9-12
  • Jessica Davis, South St. Paul Secondary, South St. Paul, math, grades 11-12
  • Bernetta Green, Eastern Heights Elementary, Saint Paul, elementary, grade 5
  • Theresa Pearson, Winona Senior High School, Winona, English, grades 9, 11, 12
  • Eugenia Popa, Harding High School, Saint Paul, English as a second language, grades 9-12
  • Timothy Riordan, Blaine High School, Anoka-Hennepin, biology and environmental sciences, grades 11-12
  • Steve Schmitz, St. Louis Park Senior High School, St. Louis Park, instrumental music, grades 9-12
  • Cory Wade, Hillcrest Community School, Bloomington, elementary, grade 3
  • Wilbur Winkelman, Lakeview Elementary School, Robbinsdale, elementary, grade 5

Education Minnesota, the 86,000-member statewide educators union, organizes and underwrites the Teacher of the Year program. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers, ECFE and ABE teachers from public or private schools. The Minnesota Teacher of the Year Program also receives support from the following organizations: The SMARTer Kids Foundation, the Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, United Educators Credit Union, McDonald’s Restaurants of Minnesota, Educators Lifetime Solutions, EFS Advisors and Education Minnesota ESI.