Five selected as 2019-20 ESP of the Year finalists

Five education support professionals from around the state have been named finalists for the 2019-20 Education Minnesota ESP of the Year award.

The finalists are:

  • Yasmin Muridi, bilingual education assistant, St. Paul Federation of Educators, Four Seasons Elementary School
  • Lesly Pounder, education assistant, Education Minnesota St. Francis, St. Francis High School 
  • Alfreda Riddley, associate educator, Minneapolis Federation of Teachers and ESP, Bryn Mawr Elementary School 
  • Margery Smith, special education assistant, Detroit Lakes Education Support Professionals, Rossman Elementary School
  • Shelley Thom, special education paraprofessional, Owatonna Education Support Staff, Owatonna High School

Finalists will now take part in an interview with the selection committee. The winner will be announced at a ceremony on Nov. 20, which is ESP Day during American Education Week.

The selection committee consists of:

  • Education Minnesota’s vice president.
  • Education Minnesota’s executive director.
  • The previous year’s ESP of the Year Award winner.
  • Education Minnesota Governing Board member (ESP or teacher).
  • A representative of another education stakeholder organization.

The ESP of the Year receives a $1,000 honorarium, an iPad and a trip to the National Education Association’s Education Support Professional National Conference.

In addition to recognition at the state level, the Education Minnesota ESP of the Year represents our union in the NEA ESP of the Year program.

Education Minnesota has honored ESPs with this statewide award since 2007.