6 selected as 2018 ESP of the Year finalists

Six education support professionals have been named finalists for the 2018 Education Minnesota ESP of the Year.

The finalists are:

  • Samuel White, a paraprofessional at North Education Center in Intermediate School District 287.
  • Frederick Sanders, an educational assistant at Cooper High School in Robbinsdale.
  • Amanda Berg, a paraprofessional at Chatfield Elementary in Belle Plaine.
  • KimEl’ Henry, a behavior dean at Andersen United Community School in Minneapolis.
  • Melissa Terpstra, a program para at Saint Peter Middle School in Saint Peter.
  • Allison Ross, a special education para at Triton High School in Triton.

Finalists will now take part in an interview with the selection committee Nov. 3. The recipient will be announced at a ceremony on Nov. 14, which is ESP Day during American Education Week.

The selection committee consists of:

  • Education Minnesota’s vice president.
  • Education Minnesota’s executive director.
  • The previous year’s ESP of the Year Award winner.
  • Education Minnesota Governing Board member (ESP or teacher).
  • A representative of another education stakeholder organization.

The ESP of the Year receives a $1,000 honorarium, an iPad and a trip to the National Education Association’s Education Support Professional National Conference.

In addition to recognition at the state level, the Education Minnesota ESP of the Year represents our union in the NEA ESP of the Year program.